Mission Statement


Instructional Objectives of the School



Internet Course

Welcome to Burk Baker School of Real Estate and Appraising’s online Salesperson’s course.  Thank you for choosing our school. We want you to enjoy the course while learning about the real estate industry. We will be as available to you as possible if you need assistance. You will have 90 days to complete the course. If at any time during the course you decide you would prefer to take a live class, you may apply your tuition payment for the online course toward a live class at any of our Louisiana school locations. The online course is not timed and is considered to be equivalent to a 90 hour classroom style course. Once you successfully complete the course you must turn in your license application to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission and then register for the state exam which is administered by PSI.

Real Estate 101

This course covers the material you will need to know to pass the state licensing exam for real estate. The course consists of the National portion which includes information that applies to all 50 states and a Louisiana portion that covers the Louisiana License Law, Commission Rules and Regulations, and Louisiana Civil Law. The National portion covers the laws regarding agency relationships, real estate contracts, ownership of real property, encumbrances and title transfer, valuation, finance, fair housing laws, property management and leasing, and real estate mathematics. Louisiana’s laws are based on the French Civil Law, whereas the other 49 states base their laws on the English Common Law. Notations are included in the National portion to explain how Louisiana laws and terms differ from the other 49 states.

The course includes 14 topics and is a combination of written lessons, power point presentations, video presentations and audio files.The course chapters are divided into sections with a few quiz questions after each section. At the end of each chapter you will be required to take a test consisting of usually 25 or 30 questions. You must score 80% or higher on each of these tests before proceeding to the next chapter. At the end of the course you will take a final exam which consists of 80 questions on the National portion and 55 questions on the Louisiana portion. You must score 80% or higher on the final exams in order to complete the course and receive your certificate. You can repeat quizzes as many times as you like, and we recommend taking the quizzes more than once as you will see different questions when you repeat a quiz. Once you have completed a lesson or quiz, you will see a check mark in the box to the right of the activity.

If at any time during the course you feel you need assistance or clarification on any subject, or technical assistance with the operation of the course, you may contact the school by telephone or e-mail and an instructor will respond to your questions. An instructor will be available during regular business hours. If you contact us after hours we will respond within 24 hours or less in most cases.

Course Requirements

To be licensed in Louisiana an applicant must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school degree or GED, take the Salesperson Pre-licensing course, and pass the state exam. Within 90 days of passing the exam you must have a sponsoring broker who will hold your license.  Before receiving your license you must complete a criminal background history.

Applying for Your Louisiana License

Once you have successfully completed the course you must apply for your license. The license application must be submitted to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission along with a $90 license fee. The application consists of two parts, Part A and Part B. Part A is the license application and Part B is the affidavit of broker sponsorship. You may download the application here. You have 90 days after passing the state exam before you must turn in Part B to the Commission, however if you already know who your sponsoring broker will be you can turn in Part B along with Part A. You may download the License application from the Commission’s website. The Commission will process your application and send you a Certificate of Eligibility for the state exam. You must then contact PSI testing service to schedule your exam. The Licensing Information Bulletin contains all the information you will need concerning registering for the state exam, exam locations, etc. Please review this bulletin thoroughly. Before obtaining your license you will be required to obtain a criminal background history.

Taking the State Exam

PSI Examination Services administers the state exam with test locations in Baton Rouge, Metairie, Lake Charles and Shreveport. The fee for the exam is $85. The test is taken by computer and consists of 135 questions, 80 questions on the national portion and 55 questions on the Louisiana portion. You will be given a total of 3 hours to take the test - 105 minutes for the national portion and 75 minutes for the Louisiana portion. You must score at least 70% on the national portion and 75% on the Louisiana portion. You will be informed of your scores as soon as you finish the test. If you do not pass the first time you may re-take it. If you pass one portion only, you must re-take the portion that you did not pass. You may continue to re-take the test for a period of one year from your initial test date. If you do not pass both portions within one year, you will have to wait six months before you can take the test again. Each time that you re-take the test you must re-apply to the Commission and pay a $15 fee in addition to the $75 exam fee. You can register for the exam by phone, fax, or mail. If registering by phone or fax you must use a credit card.


Registration Renewal

You may purchase 30 day extensions by contacting the school by telephone (225-293-6000), e-mail or fax (225-291-7582) to receive an extension.  No refunds are available for this course.


Mission Statement:

The overall mission of the Burk Baker School of Real Estate & Appraising is to develop and promote education programs that establish and/or improve the competency of the licensees.

The mission of the Louisiana Real Estate Pre-Licensing course is to ensure that Anyone who is unable to establish or improve their basic knowledge of the Pre-Licensing requirement by attending live presentations will have the opportunity to do so by an alternative method of instruction.

Instructional Objectives:

In keeping with the stated mission of the Burk Baker School of Real Estate, the courses designed and delivered by the school will: 

    • Present only information that has been verified accurate
    • Present only courses that have been approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission and ARELLO

    • Present courses that are needed by the licensees in order to further their knowledge of real estate issues or increase their competency to perform the required agent tasks

    • Present courses that are timely

    • Present courses using methodologies that ensure learning opportunities for all learning styles.

    • Evaluate all instructors and all courses no less than annually, and more frequently if appropriate

    • Constantly seek out additional subject matter for courses that will increase the competence of licensees in the field

    • Follow up on students to evaluate the efficacy of course content and instructional design.


    Feedback to ARELLO

    The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) has provided a form online at www.arello.net. This form is available for the use of any student who wishes to provide feedback to ARELLO about the learning experience with this course.

    Student Help

    Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need help.

    Fax:  225-291-7582

    Telephone: 800-222-3295

    E-mail: burk@burkbaker.com



    2834 S. Sherwood Forest Blvd. #B14

    Baton Rouge, La. 70879

    Have fun with the course!


    Last modified: Sunday, September 6, 2020, 12:33 PM